tklove27

supporting documents proof of marriage

7 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

I am new to Visa Journey and am just starting the CR-1 process for my spouse...

My questions are about supporting documents to prove marriage:

1) for proof co-mingling of financial resources, what types of proof qualify? In other words, what should I do to prove this?

He lives in Canada, and I live in Florida. Do we have to get a joint bank account even though we are not in the same place yet? Or do we show deposits from his account to mine, and vice versa?

2) for affidavits of support, what types of affidavits qualify? Can it be my own parents? or does it have to be a non-relative? Should the affidavit be prepared by an attorney? If not, how do I go about properly preparing an affidavit? Do I just have each of my parents write a statement and have them notarize it? What are the particular elements of an affidavit?

3) in general, how many supporting documents should I provide? The more the better? Or just 2 is enough?

4) should I be sending any wedding pictures/invitations, wedding video footage as support as well?

Thanks in advance for answering the above questions!

Looking forward to the journey together! :)

~tasmia

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Norway
Timeline

1. I think having a joint bank account with both your names on it is probably best. My husband was able to set up an account with Wells Fargo without any problems when he was visiting me in the US, and later we added me to his account. I'm not sure how it would work if your husband is outside of the country, though, since it might be something he'd have to do in person. We included a copy of our bank statement with both our names on it in the I-130 packet and didn't have any problems with requests for evidence or anything.