UmmSqueakster

this is the end...

45 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Egypt
Timeline

...of our elaborate plans, the end...

Nearly 9 years ago, I was a college sophomore, attending a small liberal arts university in the middle of a corn field in Indiana. I was miserable and spent a lot of time online, chatting with people from all over the world. My ICQ friends list was long and I thought nothing of adding a young man from Egypt to the mix.

Months passed, ICQ friends came and went, but he stayed.

I transferred to the University of Wisconsin, Madison, and was much happier, but we kept talking.

In August of 2003, my Grandmother drove me to the bus stop in Madison, where I boarded a bus to O'Hare. 20 hours later, I landed in Cairo.

Hands shaking, I found my bags and looked through the crowd for a face that had become so familiar. He wasn't there. My heart sank. Then I heard a voice call, "Jen!" And there he was! He had convinced the security guard to let him stand right next to the door, away from the crowd.

Fast forward, October 2005. A flight was scheduled to arrive at Minneapolis Saint Paul International Airport at 5:00 p.m. I left work at 3:00 and was there very early. I drank way too much coffee and paced the airport hallway.

When he finally arrived, coming down the escalator, my heart leapt. He wore his gray suit and was carrying his briefcase. We embraced, and drove off into the crisp Minnesota sunset together.

Of course, there is no such thing as happily ever after in real life. Or at least I haven't found it yet. Over the years, we've had our fair share of arguments and difficulties. Moving to the US isn't easy. Leaving behind your family, your friends, your job, your culture, your life, it takes it's toll.