spectheintro

A somewhat complicated question about the I-864 and I-864A.

7 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Iran
Timeline

Ok, so I'm assembling my NVC packet well before it's required to try and preempt any issues I can encounter down the road, and I've got a question about how to prepare my I-864. Here's my situation:

I am a graduate student, and as a result I do not meet the minimum income requirement. Before I came to graduate school, I lived with my parents, and I plan on living with them again (along with my wife) after I graduate. So for all intents and purposes, my permanent residence has remained the same. (I am currently living in an apartment that's closer to my graduate school, but I regularly return to my domicile to visit my parents/help out around the house/do my laundry.)

So, in filing my I-864, my permanent residence is going to be my parents' house. As I mentioned earlier, I am a student and have no income, so therefore I need another sponsor. I want to use my father as a co-sponsor, because he makes more than enough to support all of us. In addition, because he is technically a member of my household, I know he needs to file an I-864A. (Please correct me at any point if I'm making incorrect assumptions.)

Now, this is where it gets complicated. My father files joint tax returns with my mother, despite the fact that my mother hasn't been employed for the past two years. So I need some clarity here.

1.) Are all of my assumptions so far correct? Is the I-864A the correct form for my father to fill out?

2.) Because my father has filed joint tax returns, does my mother need to fill an I-864A too?