thesheikhs17

IR-1 application process with divorce

41 posts in this topic

Hi!  My situation is I got married in UAE recently with an american and had a son with him. We both live in UAE at the moment, but prior to this I was married back in Philippines and was separated for a decade but since there's no divorce in Philippines I am technically married in Philippines with the first husband. I am on the process of divorcing my Philippine marriage here in UAE on the grounds that I am now Muslim, my lawyer guaranteed that I can use this divorce as a supporting document (as he will back date the divorce from the time I converted to Islam) when I apply for an Immigrant visa to US. But I am still not confident and highly doubting this. I hope someone can shed some light. 

Edited by thesheikhs17

If I recall, Muslim divorce in the Philippines only applies if you were Muslim at the time of marriage. I am by no means an expert so maybe other familiar can chime in as well. I'd advise you to consult a lawyer well versed in Philippine law as they do things very different than other parts of the world.

However, if you are currently residing in UAE and plan to file there I believe the US would recognize the divorce. The caveat is the Philippines would not so you would want to finish the immigration process from your current country. Again, just responding with what I have personally researched. I'm sure others here can further clarify for you.

Edited by Theersink

24 minutes ago, Theersink said:

If I recall, Muslim divorce in the Philippines only applies if you were Muslim at the time of marriage. I am by no means an expert so maybe other familiar can chime in as well. I'd advise you to consult a lawyer well versed in Philippine law as they do things very different than other parts of the world.