Rukavetchka

DCF in Tbilisi with my Ukrainian wife (exceptional circumstance)

22 posts in this topic

Hi, 

I’m a US citizen currently living abroad in 🇬🇪 Georgia. My wife is Ukrainian. We were married in the US last year when she was on immigration parole after fleeing Ukraine during the war. We left the US in December.

We have planned to live in Europe for the near future, we had hoped to return to ukraine but the situation is not improving. Now my mother has informed me that my grandmother’s health is declining and she has asked me to return to US and become my grandmother’s full-time caretaker, as she is too close to retirement to quit her job and move to her mother. 

I am not a resident here in Georgia, but I’m a business owner. Ive been here much of the year for the past 5-6 years. 

My wife has no connections here in Georgia except for me, so obviously it’s not an option for her to just wait here. Her home (sumy) is under regular shelling and only a few KM from the Russian border, so it’s not possible for her to wait at home. 

My plan is to request DCF here in Tbilisi. 

- Any tips or advice?

- What kind of documentation should I have? Proof of my wife’s address in the war zone? Medical evidence of my grandmother’s health problems? 

- Which circumstance should I choose? Humanitarian/dangerous situation? 

Related to US domicile - have still been receiving mail and bills in the US for all these years at my mother’s house. I don’t have a lot of money, but my grandmother is very wealthy and she’s willing to sponsor us and to testify to financial sponsorship, or even to transfer a large sum to my savings. 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Brazil
Timeline
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Rukavetchka said:

My plan is to request DCF here in Tbilisi. 

- Any tips or advice?

- What kind of documentation should I have? Proof of my wife’s address in the war zone? Medical evidence of my grandmother’s health problems?