Maury&I

Co-Sponsor Appeal Advice for 2nd Interview

6 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ecuador
Timeline

Hello Group,

Seeking advice for our 2nd interview, our situation and their request for a co-sponsor which I can't get but also think we don't need one but want to ask Visa Journeys opinion because we don't want to have to wait until a 3rd interview. So first interview we were told that we need to get a co-sponsor but I believe that was because of 3 mistakes that were made. 

1)First mistake was our household # was 3 instead of just 2 and my affidavit of support income is for two people, not 3. I'm a small business owner and my net income reported was $24,500 + a new job in 2022 which leads into mistake 2.

2) Forgot to provide evidence/copies of new, job paychecks. Annual income for new job is $32,000. 

3) IRS did an adjustment on my 2021 taxes and increased my net income to $26,500 due to an error by my accountant.  So my affidavit of support numbers for 2021 is $26,500(business income) + new job of $32,000 for 2022 + business income. 

They also want 2020 taxes but I lived in Ecuador for 10-12 months of this year due to Covid, so didn't meet minimum requirements that year. Hopefully they will understand and know that Covid slowed thousands of businesses. 

All of our marriage evidence seemed to be approved. They said my income was to low and on the blue form, checked off we needing a co-sponsor and few other easy, fixable tasks. I'm from a very small family and waited an half year to submit my affidavit of support to have enough business profit and also got a w-2 job. Before waiting the 6 months, I researched the co-sponsor possibility amongst my family and friends and no one was warm to the idea.