tayae

Requirements for a co-sponsor for affidavit of support?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

I'm a student currently living in the UK with my beneficiary so I don't have the income to support him when we go to the states. I'm a little confused about the requirements for a co-sponsor. My best friend is willing to do it and has a good full time job above the poverty line, but she has a car loan and student loans that take up half her income and we're worried that these will make her ineligible? But there's only one line about any debts on the I-134 so it doesn't seem like it's that important to them? Anyone have any idea if she could still do it? Also, do I still have to fill out an I-134 in addition to whatever co-sponsor we end up using even though I basically have no income?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline

Only income matters. Expenses, loans, etc., are not factored in and are not even reported.

Marriage: 2014-02-23 - Colombia    ROC interview/completed: 2018-08-16 - Albuquerque
CR1 started : 2014-06-06           N400 started: 2018-04-24
CR1 completed/POE : 2015-07-13     N400 interview: 2018-08-16 - Albuquerque
ROC started : 2017-04-14 CSC     Oath ceremony: 2018-09-24 – Santa Fe

Timeline
6 minutes ago, Russ&Caro said:

Only income matters. Expenses, loans, etc., are not factored in and are not even reported.

On the I-134 though there's a place to write your real estate debts and other loans, is this just ignored? I do hope it's not taken into account and you're right because that would be great news for us 😃

Edited by tayae