emcfee

Will my (US citizen) criminal record affect our potential approval?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Colombia
Timeline

Hello from Colombia. I am new to all of this and, I am sure like many of you, very overwhelmed by this whole process. Does anyone know to what end the criminal record information is used in the evaluation process? I was arrested in the year 2000 (more than half my lifetime ago) and charged with posession with intent to distribute of marijuana, ecstasy, and cocaine, as well as posession of a stolen credit card. I of course do not plan to try to hide this in the application process, and am in the process of securing all of the necessary paperwork that I need to submit. 

I am worried that this will negatively impact our changes in my fiance receiving the K1 visa. While this was the stupidity of a 19 year old girl who made a bad choice in boyfriends (I have been a "model citizen" ever since - taxes, graduate degrees, consistent professional career, etc.), Colombia tends to carry this stigma related to drugs. I wonder if anyone has any thoughts/data on how my criminal background might affect our chances? My fiancé (a Colombian) has no record or any sort of problems in Colombia. 

Thank you for any advice or experiences that you have time to share. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

My fiancé has a background. I won’t go into detail. 

People from prison are able to successfully petition for their fiancé. I have read A LOT on this same matter. On VJ, the internet and Facebook. Some unfortunately are put into AP for a long period. 

many people come on here, obtain advice and never come back to say how they got on. 

Your fiancé will be questioned. My fiancé has told me everything, and we will be putting a letter together which I will take to my interview to show that I’m aware.