jae

Assets

13 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Germany
Timeline

SO big question, as a note I have read the other topic...to poor to be in love, this is yet a bit different. Preferring to file w/o co sponsor, my questions are about the I-134. If my assets are enough to support at 125% poverty level for 3 years (based on spouse), will this be sufficient? I have not had work in past 5 years (except for a short stint of 7 mos. 3 years ago and unpaid internships and volunteerships in my career field) nor have I needed to file taxes in past 3. I am a bit worried these will be a red flag when listed on the G-325a. I have been living in Germany the last 3 years w my boyfriend now fiancé. I had left the US 5 yrs ago for Europe, previously I had a great job and savings that allowed me to walk away from the rat race to further my education. I completed my masters overseas and spent last year studying german, in hopes of getting a job there. No luck, have returned to the US as the job market seems better. I am still searching for work and have been offered a temp job (5 mos/ 4days a week) in my field, but not to start b4 July. I am still seeking permanent employment but not looking so good in my field, museum work. My fiancé hoped to come over but the closer we look at the paperwork (specifically affidavits), the more depressing it seems as so much seems to rely on my INCOME! Any advice?

AOS

07/08/08 - filed AOS

02/23/09 - greencard received

for more details see my timeline

If you don't have sufficient income, you will need to get a co-sponsor. You might consider a job that is not in your field, just so you have an income.

YOU NEED INCOME! Without a co-sponsor, your visa will be denied. You have to show the financial ability to pay for yourself & your fiance, so that he will not become a burden for the US. If you do not prove this, the visa will be denied.

Maybe you have family or friends that would be willing to be a co-sponsor?

12140.gif