sativo

Proving financial status with I-129F

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hi,

I'm new to this process and have several questions. I intend to post them separately to avoid munging them together -- so please forgive me in advance if this is not the desired protocol.

My questions is:

How do I prove my financial status when filing my I-129F form?

My situation:

I'm a software engineer and have recently left my job in order to build my own software. At the moment I am not employed, but finding a job would not be a problem. I have enough in the bank to cover my expenses for a year while I get my own business off the ground.

Do I need to explain all this in my I-129F form? How should I explain it? What if anything must I send to prove my financial situation?

Thank you,

Sativo

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Netherlands
Timeline

You do not have to prove financials when first filing the I-129. That will be proven when your fiancée had an interview at the embassy with the Affidavit of Support.

05.12.16 - Petition received at USCIS

05.16.16 - NOA 1

05.21.16 - Hard copy NOA 1

07.21.16 - NOA 2

07.25.16 - Hard copy of NOA 2

08.05.16 - NVC case number assigned

08.10.16 - Case received at consulate, packet 3 received, DS-160 submitted

08.11.16 - Packet 3 mailed to embassy

08.18.16 - Packet 4 received, visa fee paid, letter from NVC arrived

09.02.16 - Medical

09.22.16 - Interview, received 221(g) :crying:, Case changed to administrative processing for missing documents :protest:

10.03.16 - Mailed off response to 221(g), bye bye passport

10.04.16 - Package containing documents + passport arrived at the Amsterdam consulate

10.17.16 - Approved!!!

10.18.16- Visa in hand! :dancing:

10.21.16 - POE

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

As mentioned, financials only become relevant at interview stage.