Spalderdash

Applying for K-1 visa but NOT intending to emigrate

31 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello!

I've been lurking in these forums for several weeks now - this appears to be a wonderful support network during what can obviously be an anxious time, and you have all been incredibly helpful in other posts! I just have a couple of questions relating to my specific circumstances, which I cannot seem to find answered elsewhere.

Yesterday, my fiancé and I sent off our petition for my K-1 visa. He is a US citizen while I am British and living in the UK. We have been engaged for a year (together for two; friends for over a decade) and are excited to (hopefully) get married later this year. My question relates perhaps more to immigration than the K-1 process (sorry if this is therefore in the wrong thread?) but the two topics are are interlinked, I suppose.

I am a mature student and in the second year of my degree. Much as Pete and I would obviously love to live together YESTERDAY, we are remaining patient and have decided/accepted that I will not be making The Big Move until after I've graduated next year. We decided, though, that we wanted to get married sooner rather than later in order to get the ball rolling on this whole process (and for financial reasons, as well as reasons relating to my degree, going the full K-1 immigration route did not suit us). So we've applied for the K-1 visa and we intend to get married in the States as soon as it's approved, but I will then return to the UK to finish my degree before we start looking at petitioning for spouse visas. In the interim, we will continue to work and save money to put ourselves through that process after my graduation next summer, which I understand can be a considerably more expensive ordeal.