KiTine

K1 Visa Joint Sponsorship Question - Unusual Circumstances

9 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello,

My fiance and I are looking at how we can go together to the US. We both currently live in Kenya. He is a citizen of Tanzania and I am a naturally-born USC. We have a infant son together with dual citizenship.

When we have been researching the K1 fiance visa we were troubled by the financial requirements. I am a recent graduate from a US university, working online as a freelancer currently. I do not have tax returns from the last 3 years and my current job may or may not put us over the poverty line if we moved to the US, although I know I am employable within the US.

However, my father's income would easily cover the requirements for our combined households until I was able to earn my own income. I have been researching and many people have said that joint sponsorship is usually accepted, although it's not legally enforceable nor does it legally have to be accepted. In a case like mine does it sound like they would accept it, especially as I only graduated in December 2014 and have been living abroad since then?

Thank you,

Christine

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

You will need to file your taxes no matter what.

K1 seems slightly odd choice but you will whatever need a US Domicile, plenty of threads about that.

Do not believe a Joint Sponsor is an issue at that Consulate.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

You will need to file your taxes no matter what.

K1 seems slightly odd choice but you will whatever need a US Domicile, plenty of threads about that.

Do not believe a Joint Sponsor is an issue at that Consulate.