Moonlight12

k1 visa while abroad

13 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Norway
Timeline

Hi there,

I've been reading a lot but I haven't been able to find a consistent answer.

Back story: I'm a U.S. Citizen and I took a year off of work to come travel New Zealand. It seemed perfect with the working holiday visa they offer. I met my boyfriend here (he's from Norway) and we've been living together and traveling since. We're at the half way mark in our New Zealand visas (we got here the same day!!) and we have a flight booked to Oslo next feb (2016) and we were planning on coming back to the U.S. After that to permanently live and marry.

I have a bachelors degree and worked full time in the U.S. I have an expat job in New Zealand but I'm not saving a ton. I'm planning on securing a job as soon as I'm back in the U.S. I'm not the most financially secure 24 year old but I only have student loan debt, pay my taxes and have always had a job. Even now when I'm on holiday I work almost full time. I didn't expect to fall in love while abroad but it happened and now I can't imagine spending any time apart.

If we fill out the petition this week to time things with my (our) return to the U.S. Will I have issues with the sponsor affidavit? I should say that my fiancé is financially stable and wouldn't need me to support him while he looks for work in the U.S. Could he prove that in the interview?

As for the other requirements were both of age, never been married, definitely in love and have many messages, pictures, etc to prove the relationship. So I'm not worried in any other sense except for the sponsor affidavit.

It's just that while applying abroad I can't show that I definitely will be working while I'm back in the U.S. We know there's the option of splitting up and me going back to the U.S. And getting a job then applying for all this stuff but we really don't want to spend any time apart.

Any advice would be appreciated! Please & thank you.