67 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

another question,

I hate to be annoying! I feel like I can`t find the answer through google, I must be googling wrong.

Some may know I`ve entered the US on k1. I have yet to file for adjustment of status yet. A lot of set backs so, we don`t have the funds just yet, almost but, not yet. Is there a statute of limitations on how long I`ve got to file for it? I know sooner the better, it can be a long process, but as of right now, am I not breaking any laws? or anything?

If so, Im totally screwed right now.

Edited by GermanCanadian89

I'm no expert but I recall a similar question recently on VJ. I believe the answer given by another poster was that you can apply for AoS at any time but after your ninety days it may be difficult to prove your legal status should you need to open a bank account, get an ID, et cetera.

I'm not sure what your legal status is until you have an NoA letter, but believe me that getting the EAD (work permit) is a huge benefit worth filing for ASAP.

With her EAD, my wife got her driver license and updated her Social Security card with her married name (she already had an SSN from before we met). With your state ID / driver license, you don't need to walk around with your foreign passport as identification, which can be a huge hassle to replace if lost or stolen.

File your AoS!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Not quite true - you have 90 days to marry after entering on the K1...when you file AOS is not time driven.

For obvious reasons filing it promptly is to the persons's advantage because they are out of official status after the 90 day mark

Presumably the OP has married or will within the 90 days?

You have 90 to marry and file AOS.

Edited by Udella&Wiz

Wiz(USC) and Udella(Cdn & USC!)

Naturalization

02/22/11 - Filed

02/28/11 - NOA

03/28/11 - FP

06/17/11 - status change - scheduled for interview

06/20?/11 - received physical interview letter