Ruticus14d

Affidavit of Support Help

6 posts in this topic

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: South Africa
Timeline

Ok, so our I-129F was approved and is going to be at the NVC shortly. That means that I am going to have to fill out an affidavit of support. My only problem is this.... I am a full time student and make almost no money other than sergeants pay in the National Guard. My parents are more than financially able are willing to help me out. I read the instructions on the form and I am confused. How do we do this? A joint sponsorship? Do they have to file a separate form? If so how do we deliniate between my and their affidavits?

Also... what else is the NVC going to require of me for her to enter the country on a K-3 nonimm. visa? The AOS form only mentions cases dealing with immigrant visas. Will I even have to file the AOS now or when she is in the US trying to adjust her status? Any help would be enormously helpful. Thanks much and Happy Thanksgiving!!

Edited by Ruticus14d

9/25/06 - Sent I-129F to Chicago Office

9/27/06 - NOA Petition Received

10/23/06 - Petition Sent to Vermont Service Center

11/06/06 - NOA Petion Received

11/09/06 - Touched

I-129F APPROVED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Same day as our I-130 11/18/06

12/06/06 - Consulate sent out packet 3.

12/27/06 - Packet 3 received (slow South African mail system)

1/11/07 - Sent in checklist to consulate

1/19/07 - Received call from consular officer notifying her of her interview date.

2/14/07 - Interview at consulate in Joburg. (fingers crossed)

2/14/07 - VISA APPROVED!!!!

Totals figures from NOA1 to interview date: 133 days or 3,192 hours or 191,520 minutes or 11,491,200 seconds

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline

You are doing a K-3 visa, So if the K-3 reaches the consulate you will provide an I-134 and your parent will also provide an I-134 showing that your wife wont become a charge of the state.