VenusAngel

Disheartening Boston Cititzenship Interview

38 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Canada
Timeline

My interview didn't go so well and I left the Boston JFK Building frazzled and upset. I felt my interviewer was sarcastic and rude. I forgot his name ...I want to say his last name was Mendez or Rodriguez. He sat by a cubicle facing the window close to the door where you enter.

He asked where and how I met my husband. I gave him the answer. He asked what I did for a living. I named my employer, which is fairly recognizable. He dismissively said he never heard of it. Then he asked why I live and work here in Boston when my employer is headquartered elsewhere in the state. I explained I was a satellite office. He suspiciously asked why they needed a satellite office in Boston. I said things happen in Boston that are relevant to other parts of the state. He took issue with this and seemed suspicious.

We went into the 6 questions pretty quickly:

1) What's the ocean on the west coast?

2) What happened on 9/11?

3) What do the thirteen stripes represent?

4) What is the rule of law?

5) How old do citizens have to be to vote for the president?

I forgot what the sixth question was. I answered them correctly. He didn't ask me to read a phrase, he just handed me a pen and asked me to write "There are one hundred senators."

He asked what my husband does for a living. I said he's a student. He asked for my tax forms. I handed them to him and he questioned why I didn't file jointly with my husband. I said it's because he is a dependent of his family. He asked how old he was and why I wasn't supporting him. Again, I said he receives money from his family. While asking me these questions he was curt, suspicious, and judgmental.