bigred123

Filing for Green Card/Affidavit of Financial Support/Possibly self-employed

14 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

My wife is from the Philippines. Recently she came to the US on a fiance visa and we married. I have been a full-time nursing student, also working part-time (enough to show financial support for the fiance visa), but now I am taking some time off from school to work full-time. I have been employed full-time. We are getting ready to submit the paperwork for the Green card process.

However, I am considering being self-employed right now (as a tutor; I am a teacher). My 1040 from last year does not show enough financial support (my paystubs did for the fiance visa). I do not know if I go self-employed right now how I could officially demonstrate financial support this year (2013), or if I would have to wait until 2014 (I dont think that is an option for us) and show a 1040 record of self-employed income.

My questions are:

1. If I should become self-employed in the near future, is there any acceptable paperwork I can show to demonstrate financial support such as a bank record showing a month or more of income deposited into my account, copy of receipts or accounting book for my business, etc?

2. What government source on the internet or by phone can verify which documents to use? ie which government office should I contact for official information?

I would love to leave the job I have and work full-time as a tutor, but maybe I have to wait until my wife has her green card.

Thank you in advance for any feedback you can give!

Edited by bigred123

If you want to be self employed you can. Theres no need to wait until 2014 to show your taxes as proof of income though.