ImminentImmigrant

The Curious Case Of Moving To America

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: India
Timeline

Hey,

So I am a resident of Mumbai, India. Just got married last month in India. My spouse is a a citizen of USA, studying in Houston, Texas. I plan to join her in the US and do an MBA, after which I may live there with my wife or we may move back to India together.

Having consulted an immigration lawyer, they determined that the CR-1 Visa would be the best route for us to proceed with.

However, in most cases of CR-1 Visa, the US Citizen will be supporting the immigrant. However, in this case, my wife is still a student, staying with her family. Also, since we are not staying in the same country and she has now gone back, we do not have joint bank statements or other financial documents.

My questions are:

1) If I name my wife as my sponsor, does that mean she HAS to be financing me? Or should I name my father in law as a co-sponsor too? I wouldn't want to unnecesarily get into extra paperwork.

2) She is going to start filling the I-110 form for me from Texas. Does she need the original of our Marriage Certificate, or do I hold on to that for the interview and simply send her a copy?

3) In the I-130 form, will the lack of any financial data for Proof Of Marriage make them suspicious? We have our wedding album, invitations, relatives and friends who can attest it is real, and Skype/IM Transcripts. Will these suffice?

4) If I tell the Immigration Authorities that I may or may not stay in the US permanently after my MBA, will that be a reason for them to reject me?

Thanks in advance.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

1. Your wife is the primary sponsor, even if she makes no money. Her dad can be the joint sponsor- ie he needs to fill in a I-864 too, submit tax papers etc, when the time comes.