indian81

India Passport Renewal - Address problems

5 posts in this topic

Filed: L-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi,

I need to apply for reissue of my passport as it has expired. The original passport was issued at my college hostel address 10 years ago and I stay in a rented apartment now.

Could you please help with the below two questions -

1. I do not have any permanent address as I don't own any property. My father is no more and mother, wife and kid stay with me in a rented apartment. Can I show my current rental address as permanent address? Will police verification be done for permanent address as well ?

2. I was in the US for 1+ years and came back to India in March 2012. I've been staying at the current rental address since May 2012 (7 months now). Should I state I've been living here for the past one year - Or provide my US address up till March? Also, the passport form does not have the option of selecting a US state for prior address.

Please help! Thanks!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi,

I need to apply for reissue of my passport as it has expired. The original passport was issued at my college hostel address 10 years ago and I stay in a rented apartment now.

Could you please help with the below two questions -

1. I do not have any permanent address as I don't own any property. My father is no more and mother, wife and kid stay with me in a rented apartment. Can I show my current rental address as permanent address? Will police verification be done for permanent address as well ?

2. I was in the US for 1+ years and came back to India in March 2012. I've been staying at the current rental address since May 2012 (7 months now). Should I state I've been living here for the past one year - Or provide my US address up till March? Also, the passport form does not have the option of selecting a US state for prior address.

Please help! Thanks!

Are you in India or US? Your Current Address is your permanent Address