cassecouilles

A job in the US without a college degree

51 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Belgium
Timeline

Hi everyone,

My fiance and I have just started the K1 application process but if everything goes well we should (hopefully) be in the states by June 2013.

It's probably a bit premature, but I worry about finding a job in the states. I'm only a few classes short of graduating in translating but I don't actually have my Bachelor's degree yet and I might not be able to graduate before moving to the states.

Can you get a good job in the states without a college degree? I have about 4 years of work experience. I worked as a travel insurance agent the first year, and have been working at the US embassy in progressively responsible jobs for the last 3 years. I have good references, and the last three are actually from US supervisors. I'll be honest, the lack of degree hasn't held me back at all until now, I make a pretty good salary and love my job... but am terrified of what's going to happen once I move to the US.

I'm not a "rockstar" at anything, don't have any super specialized talents to give me an edge. Basically I'm just a quick learner that's willing to work. I grew up speaking French, Dutch and Spanish. I am also fluent in English and German. But even though I am fluent in five languages, I don't actually have a degree or certificate that oficially states that.

Do you think I would be able to find a good job? By that I mean maybe an administrative job in a large company.

Thanks, I appreciate your thoughts on this!

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

You appear very talented. Any Member would agree with that. Finish your Degree is what most thoughts would be. But, in your favor. If you have those talents you stated, you have a good chance more than others. Make a good choice....

TIM/MAV K1-JOURNEY
3/27/2007....We first met on myspace
1/30/10 ......My Honey proposed
8/15/10 ......He visit Philippines(2wks) & met my family