mysticlady

CR1 Doc submission done, awaiting interview

5 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi all,

I am in mumbai and my husband lives in NYC but is on temp. deputation in Mumbai. I have my interview next week - my doc submission is done and all that is left to do is attend the interview. I did have a difficult time trying to get some of the docs done as my husband is new to India and is unsure of the process and it is my first time immigrating :) Some of the things I read in here helped and I thought I'd share my experience in the hope that it may help other spouses living here.

1. We filed the I-130 here in Delhi on the 31st of may 2011, six months after we were married. We submitted forms D230 and our marriage certificate, my birth certificate, my petitioner's forms (husband)of support e.t.c. For some reason, the Mumbai consulate doesn't accept I 130 - at least it didn't then.

2. We got the Approval and the next packet by end May (pretty quick). The packet said to send the check-list once all the documents were collected. I didn't send it out as my PCCs hadn't been done yet. At that time, the requirement was that adult Indians whose passport was issued more that six months ago need two pccs - one from the local area police station and the other from the passport office that issued your passport.

3. I was very surprised when I got my interview call in July 2011 despite not sending in the checklist of readiness.Also I was away from Mumbai and couldn't get back in time for the interview. However, I did mail the consulate at the Id given stating my emergency and requesting a re-schedule. No problems thus far.