BigDaddyKane

Grounds for Expedition?

3 posts in this topic

I was wondering, can I request my AOS case to be expedited because I am seeking employment within a particular field? I am a doctor, and I have jumped through all the hoops and passed all my medical board exams and I am applying for a residency position. I am adjusting my status currently. Residency positions prefer green card holders over visa holders, and it's much easier to get interviews with a green card. The job doesn't being until July 1st of 2012, but applications go out september 1st of this year, and the main criteria all the programs look for is permenent residency or USC first. Can I ask that my application be expedited so I can have a shot at getting a spot? See my timeline below.

07/25/2011: Married!

07/29/2011: I-130, 485, and EAD application sent to Chicago Lockbox

08/01/2011: Packet arrived and accepted

08/10/2011: NOA for all 3 arrived

08/15/2011: Biometrics notice arrives

08/17/2011: Successful walk in at ASC (Original date: 08/29)

09/02/2011: Wondering when will my file be touched.....

02/15/2012: Interview Day!!!

02/15/2012: Got my card!!

You can always ask, but I see little chance of approval. They might expedite an EAD, but you are asking for a status expedition. Your status (or lack thereof) isn't their fault. Good luck.

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: Timeline