tklove27

desperate for advice!

4 posts in this topic

Hi guys!

I've been reading a lot on this topic and still not sure what to do...

I'm applying for CR-1 for my husband who is a Bangladeshi citizen living in Canada.

I don't think our case is complicated so:

Should we hire a lawyer, or not??

-I was thinking the main benefit would be that the lawyer would be someone to double/triple check that all the forms are filled out correctly and that all the proper documents are submitted..

-also another benefit might be that the NVC may give a harder time to applicants when they see they don't have a lawyer defending them, not sure if this is true though?

Cons to hiring a lawyer

-i know the process is actually filling out a few forms, all the supporting evidence, and I think I feel comfortable enough to fill them all out on my own accurately. Especially with all the information available about the forms and process from the government sites themselves. I'm a resident doctor in family medicine and have spent a lot of my life filling out forms, following protocol etc,

So I am not sure that spending an extra 2-3thousand for a lawyer would be worth it, on top of my 100thou + student loan debt!

Please I need some insight from your personal experiences! Anyone who didn't hire a lawyer and wish they did? Anyone who did hire a lawyer and found that the lawyer helped them above and beyond the info available online/visa journey?

Please help with your comments!

Thanks

~tasmia~

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

You are not on trial so the lawyer is not 'defending' you

This is a DYI site, totally can do it on your own and there is no guarentee that your forms will be flawless if a lawyer does it. They make mistakes too

We had a lawyer, waste of money

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete