HaydenM

Getting married and wanting to stay after entering on VWP

23 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello all,

I'm a bit new to this whole thing and am still grappling with all the acronyms and everything, but anyway...

Here's the situation: I've recently come into the US on the Visa Waiver Program from New Zealand after travelling for six months or so with my girlfriend, to meet her family and see around the area where they live. Since I arrived, we've decided to get married here and try to settle down as we're not keen on living in different countries for any longer.

I realise others have posted on similar situations, and we've had a good look through the website, but can't find a good guide to what exactly we need to file (apart from the I-130 and I-145,) which will actually give me a stamp on my passport to show that I'm not an over-stayer before my VWP runs out.

The website seems to give loads of good advice on the K-1 and K-3 processes (which we've decided would mean too much time apart to pursue) but I can't find much on what to do next after we're married (this weekend). I was wondering if anyone has been in the same position and has any pointers on how to get that stamp in your passport.

Cheers!

Filed: Timeline

I dont know about any stamp in your passport..... but the information you want is here http://www.visajourney.com/forums/index.ph...page=i130guide2

You should be aware that there are risks involved with doing AOS from the VWP.... you can not leave the USA under any cirrcumstances until you have your Greencard or you will be denied re-entry... if your AOS is denied you have no right of appeal and would have to return to your home country and file for a K3 and a waiver to cover any ban incured by your over stay of the VWP...

But yes it can be done...

Kezzie

Timeline

Right. Many thanks for that!

So, whilst one is waiting for those applications to be looked at, one is technically an overstayer in this case?