phalarope

Financial sponsor

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Costa Rica
Timeline

My fiance and I are awaiting our NOA2, which should arrive at the end of August. When we first filed our petition, I planned to move back to the US (we are in Costa Rica) to start a job. However, my job offer fell through at the last minute, so I am still in CR with my fiance. I am actively seeking employment, but we also have an 18 month old son. More and more it seems impossible for me to leave before my fiance. We have absolutely no money, and I would have no way to pay for a day care provider. If we can go together, my fiance can take care of our son while I find and start a job. I have an advanced degree from an Ivy League school, so I think (hope!) I should find something. Originally my mother had agreed to be our joint sponsor, but her circumstances have changed (my brother and his family just moved in with her) and she no longer feels comfortable sponsoring us. I am looking for someone else to sponsor us so that our petition won't be denied. I am wondering if I ask a friend to sponsor us are they liable for 10 whole years? As soon as I have a job with sufficient income (or after a certain period of time), can I have them removed as the joint sponsor and become my hubby's sole sponsor? I think maybe my friends and family would be less intimidated if this were the case. I really don't want anyone to be in the position of worrying about my fiance's economic status for a decade. They've never even met him, after all! All I want is to be able to move home with my family in tact, get a job, and support my family. Please help!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: China
Timeline

You are doing a K-1 visa, the I-134 used to sponsor the K-1 is only valid from the time of entry until the intending immigrant adjusts status and becomes a resident (Green-card holder) after getting greencard the I-134 is NO longer valid, the I-864 filed when adjusting status takes over.