littlebabygirl

waiver for meeting in person

101 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hi guys!

This is my first time to post and i need your support guys to help me with our situation. Me and my fiance were together since 2007. We have a big problem now. We cant start filing the K1 petition 'cause we still havent met in person. My fiance is not allowed to travel abroad 'cause he is paying child support. And I have read in some situation posted here that we can apply for a waiver since my fiance cant come here to meet me due to the existing law in his country but i also read some advice that if the petitioner couldnt meet the beneficiary, the beneficiary should make an effort or move by going to petitioner's country to meet him.

Now I am thinking so hard what we should do here? Im planning to apply for tourist visa to see my fiance but applying for tourist visa is very difficult here in my country. And if ever i get approved Im afraid i might be hold at the port of entry 'cause of my reason why i want to be there. I know i must show prrof that i will comeback here in our country and not intend to live in my fiance's country. In my heart i know i will definitely comeback here so we can start legally the K1 process. But if ever i get denied (tourist visa), do you think that is enough reason so we can apply for a waiver? I mean if i get denied, can we use the embassy decision being denied to apply for waiver of not meeting in person and start to file the K1 petition?

Thank you guys in advance!

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My fiance is not allowed to travel abroad 'cause he is paying child support.

The reason you described (above) doesn't sound like a reason to not have met in person nor does it seem it would qualify for a waiver of the (meet in person) requirement.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ukraine
Timeline
Hi guys!