ceriserose

Feeling very discouraged today so

23 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

It's been just shy of a week since I was at the job interview and I'm beginning to doubt that I'll be called back. Frustrating, but understandable (well, not really understandable but I'm peevish so we won't go there). :P

I'm looking now to 'saddle up again' despite the fact that I'm feeling pretty negative about ever finding work.

SO.

In an effort to do so, I need some opinions on proceeding. I'm a technical writer and had my resume reworked by a former colleague who specializes in document design. I've had it reviewed by CAPS and a friend. It's a -good- resume. I have a lot of skills. The two things I'm thinking are that it needs a bit of reorganizing, as I'm mostly submitting to clerical positions (tech. writing here is not huge) and it is tending to spin more to writing. That's my first idea.

Second is more of a question on how to handle the citizenship/immigration angle. I've been putting a paragraph in my letter of interest that basically states my Canadian citizenship, my legal authorization to work here, and my pending status of permanent resident. I figured that by looking at the resume they'd see only Canadian things listed and may be hesitant that I'm not here for long or not legally able to work.

Is that a bad idea? Is it too much to tell them? Am I thinking that through backwards?

Thank you for any and all input. :)

Electricity is really just organized lightning.

cerise ...

i have zero info to offer up in regards to the job thingy ... that's SOOO out of my field! get hurt or sick and then maybe i can try to help you! :P

as for the second bit .... when i moved from Ct to NJ ... i put a brief 'blurb' in my cover letter stating something to the effect of: I have recently relocated and am interested in pursuing employment in the field of nursing blah blah blah.