buzzair

Canadian student in the US, which VISA?

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Canada
Timeline

I posted these questions in the intro thread but realized they should be posted here.

I read the FAQ's and Guides but I'm still left with some questions. Come this May, when I graduate, (1 month before the wedding) I have a year's grace period called the OPT (Optical Practical Training) where I am given a years grace period to work in the US.

My question is...should I apply via my soon to be spouse or though my future employer? Is one more quicker or effective than the other? I believe I qualify under the EB1 or EB2 categories and should not have a problem meeting the requirements.

Or perhaps I should go ahead with the K-1, 90 days before the wedding? Then adjust it after the wedding?

Is it advised to get a lawyer or can all this be done on my own? As you can see, I'm new to this and have a lot of questions. I'm eager to get answers and get started.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Chile
Timeline

Hey, welcome! I can't answer any of your questions as I know nothing about student visa issues, but wait it out, really smart people will come along soon and fill your head with all kinds of information. :thumbs:

My blog

10/01/2005: Married in Toronto

02/15/2006: Began Canadian Immigration

09/19/2007: Withdrew CIC application (they still hadn't processed anything)

10/01/2007: Moved back to U.S.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IR-1 application through Montreal Consulate

10/26/2007: I-130 mailed to CA Service Center

10/29/2007: USPS confirmation of receipt of I-130

02/13/2008: NOA-1 received (107 days)

07/02/2008: I-130 approved

07/22/2008: AOS filed including EAD and AP

07/25/2008: NOA-1s for all 3 received

08/20/2008: Biometrics appointment

08/22/2008: Received RFE for Affadivit of Support and Medical

10/21/2008: Submitted I-865W in lieu of co-sponsor and medical info to NSC