Cebu2Florida

Applying for K3

10 posts in this topic

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hello guys, I am a newbie here. But I read this site long before.

My husband and I are planning to apply for a K3 visa.

And from what I have read, CR1 Visa is better and faster than the K3 visa nowadays.

And that's what makes me confused about stuff.

Im thinking to just apply for the CR1, but then my husband like the K3 better.

Anyone here would like to comment please, about of which visa is right for me?

And how much is it cost?

Thank you very much!

-Michelle

*****~ K3 Timeline ~*****

04-23-07 We got married in the Philippines

09-08-07 Sent both I-130 and I-129F together to Vermont SC

09-10-07 VSC received our papers

*****~I-130 Timeline~*****

01-02-08 Check Cashed

01-04-08 Received NOA1

*****~I-129F Timeline~*****

And from what I have read, CR1 Visa is better and faster than the K3 visa nowadays.

And how much is it cost?

Thank you very much!

-Michelle

In most cases, the CR1 is not faster than a K3 now. It is just faster than it used to be. The K3 costs more money in the long and requires quite a lot more forms and hassle. It can potentially bring you together three months or more sooner.

If the main concern is being together, file the I-130 and I-129f together (there should be instructions somewhere on how to do this now) and then wait to see which one is approved first and sent to NVC first. If the I-129f goes first, you must follow the K3 option. If the I-130 goes first, you can keep following both options to see which happens faster.

If the main concern is having the visa with the best advantages that costs the least amount of money, only file the I-130 and follow it through to the CR1.

My Crafting Blog - On a Roll - Blogspot

3179788211_95b93e62af_t.jpg3179788215_6a1e497e9b_t.jpg3165849344_f296789fd3_t.jpg

US Immigration Timeline

-------------------------

24 Feb 2007 - Sent I-130 to London USCIS office (I'm the petitioner)