od1

Fiance visa advice

32 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi to all,

I must say I am really happy I stumbled across this site. I have browsed through the various forums, looked through the guides... I am new to all of this so hopefully you can understand how overwhelmed I am right now.

Here's my story:

My fiancee and I are both 23 years old. I am a UK citizen (she is a US citizen). We are looking to get married soon (and obviously want to be away from each other for the shortest possible amount of time).

I am here right now (US) on a student visa. I will be returning home for the summer, and we are unsure whether it would be better to get married now or after I return.

I guess my question is whether a K1 or K3 is better suited for us? I have been studying here for a year now (with exceptional grades), but have decided to finish my studies online (at a later time). So I suppose it means I will need to cancel my current visa when I finish this term and return home.

Can you give me your thoughts? Would the process of getting me back here be faster if we got married now or if we were to marry after the petition?

I really appreciate your help and input! Thank you!

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

You might want to read through the Guides at the top of the webpage. There is lots of VERY valuable information contained on those pages. You will find different paths taken here on VJ. Read through the Guides and hopefully they will help you understand each visa a bit better. It will really be up to you and your fiancée as to which visa is best. Best wishes!

Teaching is the essential profession...the one that makes ALL other professions possible - David Haselkorn

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Colombia
Timeline