Hibara

Kind of complicated story.. ideas appreciated~

106 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

At the moment, I'm a 15 year old Australian girl engaged to a 20 year old US citizen. I'll be turning 16 on the 13th of April, and I'm wondering how I can go about getting a visa to be able to live with him. When I turn 16, I'll be legal in my country, and also in his state. To get married we'll need consent from my parents, which is no problem, as they've already agreed. I know it sounds controversial, but I'm really worried about which visa path I take, because I don't want to screw anything up for myself and not be able to come over to the US.

Also, my father said he called the American consulate here and said that since I have no work experience and no skills, I don't have a much of a chance of attaining any visa. I'm actually curious to know if this is true or if he's lying to me. Sorry to be so dramatic, I'm just kind of in a pickle here. Advice/suggestions very welcome!

Additionally, if anyone knows about the total fees they've had to pay and how long it took them, that kind of information would be really great too. :help:

• Replies 105
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I wont get cover contraversial part of this, Im sure you will get enough of that from the other people here.

Work experience and education are not considered in family imigration visa such as the K-1. They are considered for other types of visas.

You need to be considered legally able to marry. Even though 16 is the legal age in some places for marriage, you might run into issues with that. Waiting another two years until your 18 before starting this process might be a good idea. There may come questions about the legitamcy of the relationship since you are still not considered an adult. It wont be very fun to wait 6 months or more for the interview and pay all the fees only to get denied because of your age.