rini

New Member needing support on how to begin the K1 visa process

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Scotland
Timeline

Hi,

I'm new to using forums so I apologise in advance if I don't do things quite the way I should do- people are more than welcome to give me some advice on how to usethe forum. I have looked through the official US government websites in order to start the whole ball rolling for my partner and I to get married and live in the US. I am from Scotland and I met my partner who is from the US. We met 3 years ago in the US whilst I was working with a non-profit organization based in the UK on an L1A visa. I recently had to leave the nonprofit and move back to Scotland temporarily as my visa was linked to my work. I have been told that the K1 visa is what I would need in order to get married and settle in the US with my partner. Is this the case? I have quite a list of questions that I am hoping that readers who have experience and knowledge in this area can help support me with.

My partner who is a US Citizen by birth and who would file the petition has a serious criminal record, is currently on parole and does not have a good credit record. I know many would think me crazy but this is true love for better or for worse!!! Would his circumstances prevent him from being considered as an eligible petitioner? What things should we think about in particular to ensure as smooth a process as possible?

At what stage does the petitioner file an affidavit of support? Is it with the I-129F form? Can a member of my partner's family in the US file an affidavit of support form as a joint-sponsor when petitioning for a K1 visa?

When do, I the alien fiance file for my K1 visa, is it when the petition has been accepted?