cwistofu

US citizen, Korean wife. Unsure where to start.

47 posts in this topic

Hi, all,

First of all, I am new to all of this, so if topics like this are frowned upon, please forgive me. I was referred to the site by a friend.

The Situation

I am a Korean American US Citizen, and I just got married to my wife, a South Korean citizen, this past July in Korea. I am back in the US attending school. She is in Seoul teaching Korean at Yonsei University. She is 6.5 years older than me (I guess this can come up as in issue during the visa interview?).

The plan is to get her a green card and LPR status as soon as possible. But I am unsure as to where I should start, and if anyone can provide us with any help at all, it would be greatly appreciated. A few immediate questions:

1. Should we apply for a K-3 or a CR-1 visa? I've read that K-3 visas are pretty much obsolete.

2. Which forms would I need to file? (Do I file an I-130 regardless of K-3 or CR-1?)

3. How long should we expect before she can legally join me in the United States?

4. How much should we expect to spend on filing fees?

5. How difficult is it for cosponsorship to get approved?

6. Would it be better for my wife to hold on to the Korean marriage certificate and get it translated/notarized in Korea, or should she mail the certificate to me so I can get it translated/notarized here? In other words, do I need the original marriage documents for the things I file here, or will she need them for her visa interview in Seoul?

I apologize if the questions are a bit excessive, but I would like to get her here as soon as possible. We're used to doing the long distance thing, but it's tough to stay separated now that we're married!

Once again, my wife and I greatly appreciate all the help you guys can provide. If there is any other information you need from me, please let me know. I will be checking this topic religiously!

-Chris

1. CR1 is better, K3 is a very very slim chance you'll get it.

2. I-130