Matt.english00

Getting ready to start the process - overwhelmed and lost

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

I'm a U.S. citizen living in Texas and my girlfriend is Irish, living in Cork. We've started talking about getting married and I'm just now starting to look into the process to do so. I'm completely overwhelmed and I'm looking for any tips and advice. One of my primary concerns is if my income is a factor and how much so. I'm currently a full time student and a freelance artist. On top of that I work a part time job as a server at a restaurant so I don't make a lot of money. Will that be a problem? Any help and information would be greatly appreciated.

You can use a co-sponsor for the financial part.

Where do you want to get married? When? Make life plans, then immigration plans, I say. Good luck.

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Australia
Timeline

We were in the same position six months ago, though luckily my US citizen partner has been able to stay with me in Australia; we haven't had to be separated for ages like many people here. (We were apart for 3 1/2 months while we got his Aussie visa, faster my US visa ran out and I had to come back for a while; even that was really hard.)

The step-by-step guide to filing the I129-F on here was an absolute godsend; we followed it to the letter, included lots of evidence that we'd been together a long time, and we have our interview on Tuesday. Hopefully, with a little luck, we might have the visa in hand within 3 months of our lodgement date. We did get extremely lucky to be processed in California though, instead of Texas, which seems to be a big part of why ours was processed so fast.