mary kate

Didn't file taxes for my first year (2010) in the US -- Naturalization

6 posts in this topic

hello VisaJourney,

Once again I'm turning to you for a question I can't seem to find an answer to... I am in the process of collecting all my information for the citizenship application. When filling out all the paperwork I sincerely check-marked the question "Did you file all your tax returns" with a yes, but then I remembered something I did not give any thought to in the last few years.

I became a resident on 12/9/2010 -- when my husband filed his taxes for 2010 the following year, I wasn't included. I didn't even give a second thought back then. I was a resident for only 3 weeks and didn't have any income. Will this now come back to bite me in the butt? Should I back-file for 2010? I am seriously worried (as always).

So far, what I came up with, is printing the verification of non-filing and including a brief and sincere note about my forgetting to file. But I don't know if that'll hurt more than it'll help. :(

Anyone who can offer any input... it's greatly appreciated.

Edited by mary kate

If you had no income in that tax year then you were not required to file; did your husband file "married filing separately"?

Widow/er AoS Guide | Have AoS questions? Read (some) answers here

AoS

Day 0 (4/23/12) Petitions mailed (I-360, I-485, I-765)
2 (4/25/12) Petitions delivered to Chicago Lockbox
11 (5/3/12) Received 3 paper NOAs
13 (5/5/12) Received biometrics appointment for 5/23
15 (5/7/12) Did an unpleasant walk-in biometrics in Fort Worth, TX
45 (6/7/12) Received email & text notification of an interview on 7/10
67 (6/29/12) EAD production ordered
77 (7/9/12) Received EAD
78 (7/10/12) Interview
100 (8/1/12) I-485 transferred to Vermont Service Centre
143 (9/13/12) Contacted DHS Ombudsman
268 (1/16/13) I-360, I-485 consolidated and transferred to Dallas
299 (2/16/13) Received second interview letter for 3/8
319 (3/8/13) Approved at interview