sandynfrancis

recently filed I-130 for Canadian Citizen Spouse

4 posts in this topic

Filed: K-3 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi

wow I wish I had found this site before we had sent off everything- I was actually redirected here from an XOJane.com post.

I am a US Citizen who lives in Canada (specifically Winnipeg Manitoba- the coldest place ever ugh). I am a Canadian Permanent Resident (I have lived here 7 years), and married my Canadian spouse in August 2013 (August 24th specifically). in December 2013 I accepted employment with a US based IT firm (in Overland Park Kansas no less) and we are hoping to relocate to the Kansas City area, once my husband has the authorization to live and work in the US (we also need to sell the Condo I bought in 2009).

we very recently applied for the I-130 (literally it was fedexed on Saturday from Grand Forks North Dakota, with a targeted delivery date of today February 20th 2014)

after reading several posts, it sounds like maybe shouldn't file the I-129F after getting the NOA-1 and just wait for the IR1/CR1 Visa- thoughts??

Winnipeg does have a US Consulate, however it is TINY and I don't believe they issue Visas there at all.

No your spouse will be going to the Montreal Consulate. I do not recommend chasing the K3 visa. If you did, and it amazingly made it through, your spouse would have to interview in Vancouver. The CR1 is the superior visa as it doesn't require the beneficiary to adjust their status. They can work right away which also means they can collect Canadian EI right away as well. They have a green card upon entry.

You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  - Dr. Seuss

• 2 weeks later...
Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline