FrozenStar

AWA and 3 DUI's

12 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

After reading this site for hours today (about 9 hours so far) Im a bit confused about my situation.

Some threads read well and have happy outcomes and some that I followed (and feel I know the OP's a bit now) have had denials.

A bit of background:

I was convicted of Lewd and Lascivious assault on a minor under the age of 16 in 1996 (Adjudication withheld). I went through a program called KIDS that involved counseling and periodical lie detectors tests. I graduated that program and was released from the probation that I was on because those terms were met. I am now on a life time registration though because I was on probation during the time the laws went through that required SOR's to register.

In the interim I've gotten 3 DUI's. The last one occured 5 years ago.

I have a few other misdemeanor convictions as well (possesion of paraphernaila, malicious mishchief, etc)

None of these are excusable but at the time I just didnt care about much anymore after having my life and family torn away.

In the last couple of years Ive met a wonderful Irish lady (4 years my senior) that knows all about my past. Ive been completely upfront about my past stupidity.

What Im wondering about now are my chances at getting her here via the I-129F. Ive seen things about the AWA that "may" be waived but it seems, now, theres also a 3 strike rule for DUI's? And the combination of sex related offenses and substance abuse might just be a death knell.

She and I are deeply in love and desperately want a life together.

How should I go about filing? Because of the past dumb assery should I go straight for a good immigration attorney or have I already made so many mistakes that the effort is going to be futile?

Any help, advice or direction would be greatly appreciated.

Edited by FrozenStar

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: China
Timeline