benandnordhey

Fiancee is Tibetan refugee in India...and I'm a student..worried

4 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: India
Timeline

So, I've heard the Delhi embassy is one off the toughest. I've seen so many legit couples denied on this site, mostly because the CO thought they were already married (which seems a ridiculous accusation) or because the C O simply seems to be culturally judgmental or in a bad mood on the day of the interview. Needles to say, I' nervous as hell about this.

I' am a PhD student and met my fiancee in june of 2011 while doing dissertation research here in India. She is a refugee, so has no citizenship. Does anyone had any experience with this kind of thing or have any ideas on what we might face. I know India is a high fraud country, so this makes me nervous...but we are 100% legit and madly in love. Is Is the Delhi embassy as tough as they say, that they would refuse to see a real relationship?

I arrived in Delhi 2 weeks age and am planning on staying here until her visa comes through. I'm hoping to attend the interview with her. Will this help? Will they question me or let me talk. She is more than capable of handling herself, but I have read so much on this site the past few days that has gotten me seriously worried that it all comes down the the whims and mood of one CO.

As I said I am a grad student in the last year of my PhD. I've taught 3 semesters now, but am just below the poverty line. My mother is helping me cosponsor, but I've heard Delhi often doesn't accept the I-134 because it isn't legally binding. some have suggested filling out the I-184 (think that's the number) because it is legally binding and bring both. In short, being a student and her being a refugee, i feel a lot of stress and worry. Any advice would be helpful.