PhDSharp

Affidavit of Support: Full-time student working multiple jobs, in between jobs, and "proving" support

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Norway
Timeline

Hi all,

I've looked at the affidavit of support page on Visa Journey, and I've tried to search the forums for answers before posting my questions here. If I've missed a help page somewhere with these answers, please just point me in the right direction!

A little background info that will hopefully make my questions a bit clearer:

• I'm a full time student, so I don't make a lot of money right now. In 2012 I was well within the required 125% of poverty level.
  • I often work 2-3 jobs to support myself.
  • At the beginning of 2013, I quit one of my part time jobs, and my current salary will not meet the 125% percept of poverty level. However, I will begin a new job the first of July. The money I make from that job will bring my income to 125% of poverty level for 2013.
  • If our VJ timeline is correct (and everything keeps moving along), I'm guessing my fiance's interview will be in October or November.

My questions:

1. Will it be a problem if I COMBINE income from different jobs to meet the 125% poverty level requirement? (On the support page on VJ, it states that along with my affidavit of support form, I need to include a letter from my employer, stating that I'm working FULL TIME for them. I do not work full time at any one job. I work one job 8 hours a week and another job 32 hours a week.) Do I include letters from both employers? The employer from whom I receive the most money?
  2. The position I will begin in July is a PAID internship. Will the fact that it's an internship be problem?