Canadian Bacon

I-130; Address and Domicile

1 post in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi, I was forwarded here and hope someone can help!

I'm currently filling out the I-130 for my husband(Canadian) and found a problem in answering some of the questions.

I'm a US citizen currently living with my husband in Canada, I'm on a study permit so we will eventually have to go back to the US however we decided it would be best for us to move back this year if possible due to unforeseen financial circumstances. My father has agreed to be a co-sponsor, as I'm a student and cannot easily/legally work in Canada.

Here's our problem: My husband and I plan to move to Portland, OR to live, work, and continue our education at some point. However, I won't be able to officially get a job until we move there and attend some interviews. This is the same problem with apartments, we can apply for them but we most likely won't get a lease unless the manager meets us in person. My parents have agreed to let us stay with them in Nebraska as needed, their address is my permanent address in the US. Since the Montreal consulate is picky about domicile, would it be best for my husband and I to move back to Nebraska for a couple of months before moving to Portland?

Are PR's allowed to move around freely, without scrutiny, in the US after being admitted?

We need to continue our education part-time but the only place that we can afford that offers our majors is in Portland...we can delay a semester(3-4 months) but not longer than that - I'll forget all the Japanese I learned!

Also, in B.2 of the I-130 I should put my address abroad, correct? We need to move back to the US as soon as possible.

On C.18 should I put N/A and list we are going to Portland or my parents?

If there's no problem with us moving to Portland a month or so after moving to my parents house in NE, I'll put my parents address for C.18.