Mark0417

I want to propose to my GF who is on tourist visa

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

My girlfriend is coming to visit me from Russia on a tourist visa, I am a California resident. I would like to propose to her as I know we both very much want to get married to each other. I meet the minimum financial requirements and have no other issues which would prevent us from getting married.

Questions:

1) Should we apply for a marriage license while she is here?

2) I assume she will have to go back to Russia after her visit and than I would have to file for K-1?

3) Do I have to wait for her tourist visa to expire or when should I apply for K-1?

4) Any other tips would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Russia
Timeline

First, congratulations on getting to this point and welcome to the Forums. The adventure begins here.....

1. You could, but I believe using the license to get married would be a violation of her B Visa and would not look good in the future application.

2. You could file while she was here, and starting it now would get the forms she has to sign done without using UPS/FedEx. But one way or another she will have to go back before it is done.

3. You can apply while she has her B visa. My Fiancee kept hers while we have been waiting.

4. The guides and checklists on this site are very good. Read them and they will coach you through the process. http://www.visajourney.com/content/k1guide

If you run into specific questions there are usually some members around who can at least point you in the right direction.

Note the poster is not an attorney and no information given should be construed as definitive or legal advice. Please consult with counsel and read all required forms and regulations for a full understanding of governmental requirements.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Venezuela
Timeline