Sceota Denum

K-1 visa: Are tax transcripts needed if unemployed?

21 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Spain
Timeline

Hi forum,

I'm getting ready to travel to Spain and visit my fiancee again (June 12), and I'm trying to gather everything she will need for the interview following the NOA 2. We have already filed I-129f and our estimated date for NOA 2 is around the end of summer.

So far, here's what I have:

1. Form I-134, completed and signed (attached, with instructions)

2. Photocopies of IRS form 1040, and W2s for last 3 years

3. Copy of birth certificate.

4. Photocopies of everything sent in the I-129f package

5. NOA 1.

6. My co-sponsor's affidavit of support with all the supporting docs.

Here are my questions:

I had a summer job in 2011, but other than that, I've been unemployed because I am a full-time college student. That's all I have to provide for 1040s and W2s. In the fall I will be a student teacher, and then will graduate. Do I need to supply tax transcripts? I never filed my taxes because I did not make the minimum income at my summer job. Also, since I am under 24, my mother claimed me on her taxes. I'm not sure what I need to do for that part.

I know that I'll have to at least provide a letter explaining why I have been unemployed, but my fiancee says I need to obtain a statement from my university on official letterhead that acknowledges my full-time enrollment for the past few years and next semester. Is this so, and who should I get this from? I can go to the financial aid office or the school of education and ask the secretary to do it for me, if nobody else.