nicolev

To College or University?

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Disclaimer: This is quite the lengthy question!

I'm a 17-year-old American student currently in the 12th grade. For various reasons, I have decided to study in the UK. I cannot simply join a Study Abroad program in a college here in the States because my purpose of studying in the UK expands beyond simply wanting to study at a British university. It's rather complicated, but it has to do with my gaining citizenship in the future, which, again, is for various reasons including family and the like.

I was originally planning on going directly to university since I am at a level in my education where that is a possible situation. Because I have not taken A-Levels or the American equivalent of these, I am unable to apply to a "typical" British university. However, I did my research and came across Richmond University in London, which is basically an American college in England. I had planned on studying here and then transferring to the University of Nottingham after my first year of study. This would mean that I could still go directly to England next year, and that I would be able to qualify to study at a "typical" British university as soon as I completed my Freshman year of college.

This plan was stable for a bit. I spoke to the American representatives of this school and came to the conclusion that I have a 99% chance of being accepted if I apply. No matter what I do, I've decided to still apply to Richmond as a sort of back up plan. But, now my thoughts have changed...