raiden

financial support question

3 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

Hi everyone I am a 22 year old college student. I have maybe about one year from now until I graduate and can apply for a better job/career. I have been in a relationship with my gf/fiance for two years today. I have visited her twice now and plan for a third. Our plan was for me to petition for her later this month. I have a full time job at a nursing home and I am a full time student. I make minimum wage though and I think overall it will be just under the requirements for financial support. She has already finished college once and is currently in college again and about to finish her second bachelors degree. She is older than me by 3 years. She will come live with me and my mom along with my stepdad. My mom and stepdad are not married but thats because my mom has not been able to divorce her last husband. But they have been together for 5 years now and are planning to get a home together. My mom currently is working as a caretaker but part time so I was going to ask my stepdad to co-sponsor for me because he makes nearly 50 grand a year. But my gf is filipina and I keep hearing not all co-sponsors are accepted there. I hope that doesnt affect us because I have a full-time job even while in college and soon will graduate so I am working hard towards my future. My girlfriend will also be finishing college a second time and has a full-time job as well. My stepdad and I are close of course and we all get along real well and he of course loves my mom. Any chance I might get denied?

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

As your stepdad isn;t your official stepdad, yes I think there is a good chance of denial as Manila is very strict on co-sponsors for the K1. Would you consider getting married on your enxt trip and file for the CR-1 spousal visa instead? You can have a co-sponsor for that.

Bye: Penguin