ArizonaBound

Starting out - F1 or K1?

2 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi everyone, I'm Eff and I'm in love.

B and I met in February 2010 through a Star Wars RPG game we both play. We were friends for quite some time and eventually grew closer. I should say right now that he was deployed to Iraq during that time and he flew me in to Texas to meet him straight off the plane when he returned home.

He came home November 2010 to El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss). Our little "this is incredible... but we'll wait till we see each other to go nuts" evolved into full blown nuttiness. Since then, he's gotten orders for Ft. Huachuca, AZ and has just recently gotten situated at home. We visited each other a lot. He came to Montreal twice, I visited him another 3 times.

I have the "free time" that allows me to do this because I'm a nursing student. It also allows me to move down to be with him on a F1 visa next semester (September 2011). I'd have 2 more semesters to do in Arizona before graduating.

- I've already contacted the community college there and they're willing to talk with me for a full transfer of credits earned.

- I can get financial help (student loans) from the Gov't of Quebec even if I study abroad.

- We obviously plan on getting married at some point.

- I can then get a military dependent status that would get me medical insurance and waive the international student tuition. Unfortunately my soldier is a little too high-ranking for us to fall under the GI bill, but I'll consider myself extremely lucky to be able to just save the 10k/yr student tuition.

Alright, so that's the background story. I've read extensively about K1/IR-1 visas as I figured it might be easier to go the other way (enter as fiancee/wife then apply for college) but it seems the timeline is horrid... 10-12mo from application to entry is very discouraging.