Stine83

Advice needed! So confused!!

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Ok, so a little background information: I'm 28 yrs. old and from Denmark. My boyfriend is the same age and from the States. We are currently looking at the whole process of getting married, but we are confused on where to start and which way to go with this. I'm currently a student, I'll finish my degree in a year though. My boyfriend is employed and living in America, but in general our funds are limited.

Anyway, so here are some questions (I'm sorry if these have been asked before):

1. We might want to live in Denmark for the first couple of years only. However, would it still be the same deal if we get married in the States? Like would that influence where we can live afterwards? Or if we get married in Denmark, does that mean we can't move to the States afterwards?

2. I read somewhere else on this site that the fiance visa is a costly process and some would recommend doing the spouse visa. How does all this work? Would we then just go to the JOP to get married next time I'm in the States, and then apply for a spouse visa, or is this a bad idea?

I just have no idea where to even begin with all this. I hope to get some help from some of you guys. Thanks a lot!

Filed: Lift. Cond. (pnd) Country: Iran
Timeline

1.it can define where you can live afterwards for a couple of years as long as you have a green card,as far as i know ( correct me vets if I' m wrong) as long as you have a green card you have an obligation to live in the states at least 6 months a year or else you'll be abandoning it.if you apply for k-1,when you arrive in the states you'll be applying for adjustment of status,when it gets approved you'll get a two year conditional green card,so at least for the first two,three years,you cant LIVE in any country other than states.