Buttertart

Scared Canadian w/ Overstay

3 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Canada
Timeline

My USC boyfriend and I met at an anime convention in Toronto in May of 2008. This past July, I was denied entry for not having strong ties to Canada (intending immigrant). We've decided to apply for a K-1 and get married in LA, and then apply to be a permanent resident. I spent most of my time since March 2009 in the US, visiting him. A report I recieved a copy of states that my previous visit was an overstay (I was there for 6months+ a week or so). As a Canadian, I never needed a tourist visa to visit, and never had my passport stamped (if I was told I limit on my visit I would've obeyed that). But, stupidly, I didn't realize that there was an actual limit and that I could overstay even without having a visa to overstay.

Also, while I was in secondary inspection at Toronto Pearson, the officer asked if I had worked while I was there and I said no. But I am a freelance artist who works from home via web and he said 'how do I know you didn't work while you were there'.

So basically, I'm worried that my overstay/recent denial will prevent me from getting a visa (we haven't actually filed yet). I'm also worried that, down the line, the fact that I was visiting the US for a big percent of the last 12+months and am a freelancer will have a negative effect. I am filling Canadian income tax, but if they suspect I worked while in the US (because I could accomplish this from my bf's home over the net)how could I prove I didn't? All my contracts are paid via direct deposit, PayPal, or checks sent to my home address.