Erthwhile

GC expiring in 2012 but going through divorce

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Italy
Timeline

Hi,

I am a CR1 resident and I just entered the USA 2 months ago. I and my wife are going through a divorce process (consensual) because we realized that things have changed in our marriage. After the divorce will be finalized, I will apply to remove conditions on my own. My question is: how long does that process take? Will my rights as green card holder be in place until I will receive an answer, even though I will be divorced during the filing? Will I be able to leave the country and re-entry for short times (I have a trip scheduled with my university)? The GC, I repeat, expires in 2012.

Thanks a lot!

12/07/2009 - I-130 and supporting documents sent to USCIS office in Rome

12/16/2009 - USCIS office received the form

02/16/2010 - NOA1

02/22/2010 - I-130 Approved

05/27/2010 - DS-230 sent

07/19/2010 - Medical exam in Napoli

07/20/2010 - Interview

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: Japan
Timeline

Hi,

I am a CR1 resident and I just entered the USA 2 months ago. I and my wife are going through a divorce process (consensual) because we realized that things have changed in our marriage. After the divorce will be finalized, I will apply to remove conditions on my own. My question is: how long does that process take? Will my rights as green card holder be in place until I will receive an answer, even though I will be divorced during the filing? Will I be able to leave the country and re-entry for short times (I have a trip scheduled with my university)? The GC, I repeat, expires in 2012.

Thanks a lot!