Grime

I-134 and I-864 question

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Hi,

I am a bit confused here with the I-134 and I-864 forms,

I am currently an unemployed student, all I have to prove income is my tax returns, bank statements, and I can also provide investment information.

I make my income on investments, I currently have bonds that provide me far more then 125% of poverty income. 2009 being near 80k, and 2008 around 40k...though, my 2007 tax return only shows around 13k

Do not know if it makes any difference, but I do own my own home.

My question is...will that suffice? Would I need a co-sponsor since I cannot prove employment?

Thanks.

Edited by Grime

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Also want to add, I had to put "None" for all where it states "Applicant's employment last five years" on my G-325.

I really hope I won't have a problem with all this. Although my parents are more then willing to co-sponsor if they have to.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

Sounds like you have plenty of assets to sponsor your fiancee, assuming it is just the two of you. I would include the house; not strictly needed but if using assets, having more is always a good thing.

Bye: Penguin

Me: Irish/ Swiss citizen, and now naturalised US citizen. Husband: USC; twin babies born Feb 08 in Ireland and a daughter in Feb 2010 in Arkansas who are all joint Irish/ USC. Did DCF (IR1) in 6 weeks via the Dublin, Ireland embassy and now living in Arkansas.

mod penguin.jpg

Moving thread from K1 forum to consular forum, as the I 134 is needed at interview.

FWIW, K1s do not use the I 864 until adjustment of status.

SA4userbar.jpg

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline

Hi,

I am a bit confused here with the I-134 and I-864 forms,

I am currently an unemployed student, all I have to prove income is my tax returns, bank statements, and I can also provide investment information.