cherylc522

Tax help!!!

4 posts in this topic

I moved to the US Feb 7th 2009 so i only worked jan in canada, I also received 1 payment from EI which wasn't much but i believe i have to claim it. I have never done my own taxes but I have to this year and i have no idea what forms i should be using. i know i have to mail it in, i thought this would be as easy as just doing it online but i see i cant now. I need help finding what forms i need as well as im confused, do i need to claim my husband? we got married in feb so do i have to claim his income from down here and my income from down here? also, im considered a non-resident now right?

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I'm not an expert on taxes, but since I just did mine, I'll try :)

Yes, you need to file your Canadian taxes, and yes you will have to claim your husband. Canadian tax forms aren't all that scary. There will be a place on your forms to enter his income. If I remember correctly, it is only to see if you qualify as a low-income family (and thus qualify for tax breaks), so you should include his income. If taxes have been filed in your name before, even if you didn't do them yourself, then you should be able to complete them online. Get your information from whoever did them before to dig up the little paper that tells you how to log in. If you can't find it or have never filed taxes, then you'll probably want to order or print tax forms online at a government site (http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/formspubs/t1gnrl/llyrs-eng.html) or get a family member to pick some up at their local post office and send them to you - you'll have to send them in in that case.

Since you're pretty young, I'm going to assume your taxes won't be too complicated. You'll need to do the tax form, which is the T1, it's corresponding provincial sheet, and the Schedule 1. If you were a student in 2009, you'll also want to do the Schedule 11. Just follow the instructions, and don't worry or stress.